Monday, July 15, 2013

Proud

Six months ago my fiance, Sean, had the stomach flu. He worked for a company where he knew more than half the managers and was always helpful. He went to work sick for two days and half way through the second day was sent home and was told not to return until the doctor said it was ok and with an excuse. I had to leave work early just to pick him up and take him to the doctors because he was so sick. We went to the doctor and he was excused through the following Monday. That gave him six days (including the weekend) to get better. He called his boss to let her know, but had to leave a message after she failed to answer her phone for the 3rd time. He also called his Team Lead who said it was fine that he was out sick. When he returned to work on Monday, I received a call almost two hours later from him saying he was fired. This was horrible news for us because things were finally starting to work out and it had looked like he was on his way up for a promotion. He was told that he had run out of sick days and they had to let him go. This made me so mad because not only did he have a doctors excuse, but he also had vacation days he could have used and personal days, plus they were the ones to send him home and told him everything was ok. He later told me that they even said he had enough sick days to be out and when they called him in to fire him told him "they messed up and were wrong." What's even worse is that they had him work for almost 2 hours before firing him. So since there was nothing to be done, he filed unemployment and the business tried to fight him and deny him. He talked to a unemployment worker and they agreed that the business had been in the wrong and granted him his unemployment. Since he got fired in winter he had a very hard time trying to find a job because no one really hires at that time. About a month ago he had an interview for a company and was hired. He had to wait 3 weeks to start training and now he's on his last week of training. I'm super proud of him because he's been working super hard and has gotten perfect test scores and had even been introduced to higher ups because he's being considered for a manager. If this job works out we will be so much better off and can finally stop living paycheck to paycheck and not have to worry about job security and going back to school. So I just wanted to say how proud I am of him and his hard work. So far this job has not been easy and he's overcome multiple obstacles, and I'm just really proud that he's getting his life back on track and prioritizing his life.

No comments:

Post a Comment