Monday, July 15, 2013

My Fun Filled Weekend

Since my fiance started a new job we have rarely been able to see each other. I'm on unemployment so I'm very lonely throughout the day, and he works 2-11 and we stay up late and sleep in, so there hasn't been much time for us. This weekend I had so much fun though :) Friday after he finished work, we decided to go to Applebees, because they have half priced appetizers after 9pm. I had some boneless buffalo wings and he had boneless bbq wings and we shared some breadsticks and we just talked, because he had a bad day and played on our phones, since were both playing Restaurant Story. Then we headed over to WalMart to pick up some minor food and snacks because we were planning on going to the drive in the following night. Sean also picked up kielbasa and saurekraut because he wanted to make sunday dinner. After that we picked up a small milkshake from Mcdonalds and went home.
         Saturday we headed to Robinson. We went to the mall, where I tried to find a dress, but failed. I looked mostly in Forever21. I don't think I really want to shop there anymore. I noticed that the clothes are very poorly made and never quite fit right, which is sad because they always have such cute clothes. Then we made our way to dinner (we didnt get out of the mall till almost 5). We went to Red Lobster where they have a special 4 course feast. I got a garden salad, chicken tortilla soup, habanero coconut shrimp and citrus shrimp and a brownie a la mode for dessert. Plus cheddar biscuits.
It was heaven. I had such a nice time hanging out with Sean and just talking. We havent been able to go out for a long time because we are on super budget mode, with his new job and me on unemployment. Then we headed to Ikea where we had fun sitting on couches and talking about redoing the living room and our little townhome. I bought an adorable apron 

and picture that are vintage looking. Then we headed to Great Clips, because Sean needed a haircut, but they were closed. So we then went to half priced books, where we found nothing of interest. We then headed to the drive in after making a quick stop at Sheetz to pick up a drink. The drive in was loads of fun and we saw Despicable Me2 and Monsters University. I might write about them and the drive in in a different post. Surprisingly I liked Monsters University better and was pretty disappointed in Despicable Me2. 
          Sunday we just had a lazy day. Sean really wanted to play a video game so we went to RedBox and he rented The Last of Us, which is a zombie game. Before we went to bed the night before, Sean put saurekraut, beer, brown sugar and kielbasa in the crockpot to slow cook all night.


 He mashed Baby Red potatos and we made corn on the cob with it. It was delicious. Other than that we just watched some tv and watched the movie Coffee Town, which was dumb. It was a nice easy Sunday.
          I really loved this weekend. Sean and I had so much fun together and really my favorite part was just being able to be with him :)

Proud

Six months ago my fiance, Sean, had the stomach flu. He worked for a company where he knew more than half the managers and was always helpful. He went to work sick for two days and half way through the second day was sent home and was told not to return until the doctor said it was ok and with an excuse. I had to leave work early just to pick him up and take him to the doctors because he was so sick. We went to the doctor and he was excused through the following Monday. That gave him six days (including the weekend) to get better. He called his boss to let her know, but had to leave a message after she failed to answer her phone for the 3rd time. He also called his Team Lead who said it was fine that he was out sick. When he returned to work on Monday, I received a call almost two hours later from him saying he was fired. This was horrible news for us because things were finally starting to work out and it had looked like he was on his way up for a promotion. He was told that he had run out of sick days and they had to let him go. This made me so mad because not only did he have a doctors excuse, but he also had vacation days he could have used and personal days, plus they were the ones to send him home and told him everything was ok. He later told me that they even said he had enough sick days to be out and when they called him in to fire him told him "they messed up and were wrong." What's even worse is that they had him work for almost 2 hours before firing him. So since there was nothing to be done, he filed unemployment and the business tried to fight him and deny him. He talked to a unemployment worker and they agreed that the business had been in the wrong and granted him his unemployment. Since he got fired in winter he had a very hard time trying to find a job because no one really hires at that time. About a month ago he had an interview for a company and was hired. He had to wait 3 weeks to start training and now he's on his last week of training. I'm super proud of him because he's been working super hard and has gotten perfect test scores and had even been introduced to higher ups because he's being considered for a manager. If this job works out we will be so much better off and can finally stop living paycheck to paycheck and not have to worry about job security and going back to school. So I just wanted to say how proud I am of him and his hard work. So far this job has not been easy and he's overcome multiple obstacles, and I'm just really proud that he's getting his life back on track and prioritizing his life.

Thursday, July 11, 2013

I am currently obsessed...

For the last couple days I've been completely obsessed with the app Restaurant Story. The game consists of making food and expanding your restaurant, but the food is timed and could be ready to serve in 1 minute or 2 days. That's part of the strategy-to time it to be able to make customers happy to earn more money-and I am obsessed. I never really got into Farmville or anything like that, but I imagine it's the same concept. I even got my fiance to join in on his phone and he helped me out and sends me stuff. It's quite nice.

I've also been obsessed with Youtube videos. Now I've had a weird obsession with Youtube for years and I follow "Youtubers" not only on Youtube but also on twitter and facebook and such. My new favorite "Youtuber" that I just can't seem to get enough of is called Sprinkleofglitter. That is not her real name of course, but I just think she's wonderful. She does beauty and fashion videos as well as some collabs and vlogs. Her collabs with fellow Youtber Zoella, are funny and adorable and they compliment each other so well. I feel like we would be great friends because she has a similar personality and I also like her because she does fashion hauls for bigger people and has a great attitude. She also has a blog, and is my inspiration for starting this blog as well as making some videos. I love her confidence and enthusiasm and everyone should check her out! Link to her Youtube below!

http://www.youtube.com/user/Sprinkleofglitter?feature=watch

Tuesday, July 9, 2013

I'm Gonna Do It



I've been a bit chunky since the 5th grade. Call it bad genes, call it overeating, call it not exercising, call it whatever you want but it's the truth. When I was little I used to pray every night that I would lose weight and imagine a grown up pretty me being all thin. Magically in 12th grade my metabolism must have kicked in because I was the thinnest I've ever been. It was really nice. Now, I've never been a size 4, even in 12th grade I only went down to a size 10 (which was still not good enough for my mother) but being 5'9" I thought it was wonderful. I felt so dainty and could fit into really cute clothes and I wore skirts all the time. I managed to pick up two boyfriends and became more confident in myself. It didn't last long though. My metabolism quickly tuckered out and went back to being slow and annoying. It didn't help that since I was going to college and working full time that I would just grab fast food or go out with my boyfriend and friends and eat fried food. I was really taught the value of exercise when I was a kid. My brother and mom are very skinny and my dad is larger now, but used to be very skinny as well. I was usually outdoors in the pool and was always involved in a sport, but never learned that working out is part of a healthy lifestyle. I will definitely be teaching that to my kids when I have them. So it wasn't until about a year after graduating high school that I got on a scale and saw that I had gained almost 80 lbs! What! Yes, it's true instead of the freshman 15, I somehow had managed the freshman 80. I was horrified and in denial (thinking my pants had just shrunk and I needed new ones). So I decided to rectify the problem. I started P90X of which I finishes about 10 days then quit. A year later when I moved to Clarion to attend college I started working out and noticing changes. Then my boyfriend came to school as well and I started spending more time with him and friends then I did at the gym. A year after that I moved in with said boyfriend and that summer had a small breakdown about my weight, which was embarrassing because his friend was over and we lived in a studio bedroom. That summer I started P90X back up and i lost 40 lbs. I felt so good and I thought it was so easy and I had my boyfriends support, but I stopped after the first level, because of work and feeling so tired. I've tried working out on and off again but to no real avail. Last August I quit my job and for an entire month I worked out which got me in the groove and I was soon able to keep going even though I got a new job. That lasted 3 months and I started to look good but once winter hit, it was like I just wanted to hibernate. I had absolutely no motivation. I would work10 hr shifts and be exhausted, especially since I got no vitamin D. So now that I am laid off of work and living on unemployment Ive been trying to work on my weight. I would like to lose 100 lbs and be the skinniest I've ever been, but in all honesty I just want to look good and not have to worry about a flabby belly or arms or beefy calves. I want to go shopping without being embarrassed about being a size 16. And most of all I want to feel good. I want to be able to go up the stairs without being winded. I started walking and jogging on a beautiful running path next to my fiances work and I'm on day 8 of a 30 day squat challenge (by day 30 I'll be able to do 250 squats) and I started jillian michales 30 day shred. So let's see how this goes, but I think this time I'm gonna do it. Fingers crossed x

MakeUp Challenged



When I was in high school my greatest fear was going to school without makeup. I would wake up at 5:30 am everyday just so that I would look perfect. Once I was halfway to school and realized I had forgotten mascara and almost had a break down. Even though I wore make up everyday, I realize that I was a bit clueless. My makeup routine was pencil eyeliner, dark-ish eye shadow and mascara. Sometimes I would wear powder. And the problem I am having as I'm getting older is that my routine has not really changed. I've watched countless videos and bought books about makeup and how to apply it and yet when I got to the drugstore to buy concealer or bronzer or anything, I stand there in confusion at the products before me and always leave empty handed. Well that's not true. Once I bought some kind of HD powder but when I put it on it was just glittery and only defined my blemishes...most likely because its all I had put on and was obviously not meant as a concealer or foundation. Now that I'm a bit older and I still have annoying blemishes that pop up as well as some major under eye circles I realize that I really need to learn how to put make up on and not just the regular routine that still shows all my blemishes and smudges after an hour. I think once I have some extra money Im just going to go to the mall or Sephora and have them show me what to do and just buy the crap they put on my face.

Monday, July 8, 2013

An Introduction of Sorts

Since I am new to the blogging world, I thought I would give and introduction of sorts. I've attempted to blog before but it never quite worked out. I didn't understand how to set it up or what to talk about and I was worried that no one would see it. The difference between then and now is...well there is no difference. I still don't quite understand how to set it up or what I'm going to talk about and I doubt many people will read this. There is one difference though. I don't care. I have wanted to interact and put myself into the online world for a very long time. The one thing that always holds me back though is being scared. Even earlier today when I was inspired to pursue a blog, I quite after about 10 minutes of staring at a blank screen. It wasn't until I was sitting outside, watching the lawn light up with lightning bugs, that I realized I had about a million ideas and thoughts running through my head and no one to share it with. So I've decided to share it with no one and see how it goes. What I mean to say is that I shouldn't blog or do youtube videos because I want subscribers I should want to do it for me and what happens happens. I just need to stop caring what others think and everything will fall into place. So my introduction is this: My name is DeAnna and I'm going to do this for me and if you are reading this and want to follow along then welcome.

Goals for July
30 day squat challenge
Finish reading Iron Queen and start Night Circus
Create Document my Life video for July
Possibly do more review and random Youtube videos
Make a friend
Finish watching at least 2 animes that Ive started